top of page

Thank You Notes

I’m a big believer in thank you notes. Not the copied ones with the same generic message on them. Those are not thank you notes; they are lazy notes.

I’m talking real, hand-written thank you notes, which were always something we did in our family. You get confirmed, people stop by and bring you gifts- you take the time to write thank you notes to each person. You graduate, people stop by and bring you gifts- you get your pen and stack of cards out and get going on the thank you notes the first day of summer vacation. You get married, people stop by and bring you gifts- you write and send that thank you note before you use that gift.

It’s just common courtesy, which we so sadly seem to lack these days, but it can also be a terrific practice in gratitude.

My "Cancer Box" holds all of the beautiful cards with sweet messages that I have received from people far and wide to support and encourage me.

Throughout my breast cancer diagnosis, treatment, and recovery I have been so incredibly blessed by so many tremendously thoughtful friends, family, coworkers, and strangers who sent cards, gifts, money, and food. I made it a priority to write thank you notes and it was one of the most healing exercises for me. I certainly didn’t intend to, but I'm sure at some point I may have missed a note or two. There were days where my mailbox overflowed with generosity from others that I could barely write them fast enough.

As I'd write each card and drop the stacks of them off in the mailbox, they became a tally and conscious reminder of all of the wonderful people who cared about me and were thinking of and praying for me, and that was more powerful than I can explain. Knowing that so many people were on my team fighting with me allowed me to take care of only what I needed to do at the moment, then rest up, knowing my warriors had me covered; I wasn’t doing it alone. And that gave me strength.

I realize that sadly, not all cancer patients may have the luxury (if you can call it a luxury) that I had, not working through the first part of treatment. I was able to sleep when I needed, be sick when I was sick, and then, when I was up to it, work on writing thank you notes. When I went back to work and was exhausted from normal life and exhausted from radiation, finding the time to write the notes for the generosity that continued to trickle became a bit more difficult.

Whether sick or well, making it a common practice to write thank you cards can really have an impact on your wellbeing and perspective.

It really makes you slow down and realize how lucky and loved you are, and really, there are fewer things in the world better than that.

bottom of page